DETAILS: How Mityana Bishop Was Elected New Church Of Uganda Archbishop

Mityana Diocese Bishop, the Rt. Rev. Dr. Stephen Kazimba Mugalu has been elected 9th Archbishop of the Church of Uganda.

At a press conference held at Namirembe, the Dean of the Church of the Province of Uganda, announced that the Rt. Rev. Dr. Samuel Stephen Kazimba was elected the 9th Archbishop of the Church of Uganda. The election was held during a meeting of the House of Bishops today at St. Paul’s Cathedral, Namirembe.

The election was by secret ballot and was presided over by the Provincial Chancellor.

The installation of the new Archbishop will take place on Sunday 1st March 2020 at St. Paul’s Cathedral, Namirembe.

At that time, Archbishop Stanley Ntagali will hand over the pastoral staff to Archbishop-elect Stephen Kazimba Mugalu who will then be invested with the authority to lead the Church of Uganda as Archbishop.

The Presiding Bishop at the enthronement will be the Dean of the Province, who is the longest serving Bishop in the Church at that time.

Between now and March, Archbishop Stanley Ntagali will continue to do the work of the Archbishop and the Bishop of Kampala Diocese, as well as bid farewell to the remaining Dioceses.

The Archbishop-elect will say farewell to his Diocese and prepare to move to Kampala. His current Diocese will elect a new Bishop, since he will leave his Diocese to also become the Bishop of Kampala Diocese.

The previous Archbishops of the Church of Uganda have been the following:

1st Archbishop Leslie Brown, a British missionary, was the first Archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire (1961-1966)

2nd Archbishop Erica Sabiti (1966 – 1974)

3rd Archbishop Janani Luwum (1974 – 1977). Martyred in 1977.

4th Archbishop Silvanus Wani (1977 – 1983). In 1980, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire became a separate, Francophone Province, and Uganda became its own Province.

5th Archbishop Yona Okoth (1983 – 1995)

6th Archbishop Livingstone Mpalanyi-Nkoyoyo (1995 – 2004)

7th Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi (2004 – 2012)

8th Archbishop Stanley Ntagali (2012-2020).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here